Search Our Website:

  
Enter keywords, and GO!

Welcome!

Reach Out Rescue & Resources is a small group of rescuers with a large amount of passion for dogs and cats!!
Last Updated:
2/4/2023 9:45 AM
 

Bela's Web Page

Terrier / Australian Kelpie / Mixed  : :  Female (spayed)


More Pics...

Interested in adopting?

My Rescue
Login to Remember your Favorite Animals and Breeds!

Print an adoption flyer for Bela!

Please Note: This animal is listed as a courtesy to another organization. Please be sure to contact the foster/caretaker for more information about her.

All of the animals posted on our site have been temperament tested. While not all are in the immediate area, once we have processed and approved your application, we will move the dog to our adoptive area for you to meet, greet and hopefully adopt. Sometimes we will have more than one application on a dog. That does not mean it automatically goes to another family but you should be aware of the fact that until you are approved and set up for the meet/greet.. the dog could get adopted by another applicant.

About Bela

  • Status: Available for Adoption (adoption info)
  • Species: Dog
  • General Color: Golden/Chestnut
  • Current Size: 35 Pounds
  • Current Age: 1 Year 10 Months (best estimate)
  • Housetrained: Yes
NOTE- BELA IS LISTED AS A COURTESY FOR ANOTHER RESCUE ORGANIZATION.  PLEASE SEE CONTACT INFO BELOW.

Contact:

Tiffany Stearns (Follow My Lead LLC) owner
info@followmyleadbaltimore.com
  • Loyal 
  • Affectionate 
  • Agile/Athletic 
  • Opinionated 
  • Barrier frustration/reactivity - particularly when in a cate and unfamiliar people approach.  
  • Command knowledge 
    • Look
    • Sit
    • Touch
    • Down
    • Stay
    • Come 
    • Leave it 
    • Up
    • Place
    • Off
  • Great car companion - She enjoys the sights and sounds 
  • Dog assertive - no aggression - does very, very well with older confident male dogs.  
  • Leash education 

 

Hello my name is Bela - I am what you would refer to as a COVID puppy.   My socialization has been limited to immediate housemates with infrequent interactions to the outside world.   My previous home life consisted of my foster parents and hooman brother.   Prior to them, my life skills were limited to one hooman who was careless with my loyalty and now I am wary until I can trust you.   BUT, once we can establish this, I am yours forever.   I am not sure how I feel about small children (under the age of 10) but I can be managed with confident teenagers.  I really want to trust people but this will take time, patience, and love.   

I have a great sense of humor and am up for a fun time anytime.  I would love a job such as agility or climbing, long hikes to use my nose or perhaps even scent work.  I need to work!!!  I am learning to love balls, especially the ones that light up and make sounds and will play for hours with my stuffies.   I have a high chew need and the more access I have to bones and such the less I will find my bed to chew.   I do not chew on your things though unless you treat them like toys   

I am smart and love to learn new skills.   I am intrigued by other dogs and if there is a way to join them in play without living with them, I would be most content.  

I ride in cars successfully after much practice.  I no longer vomit or bark at other things, people, cars passing by.   I am learning to anticipate strangers petting me but I must be selective until I think you are trustworthy, as hands were not always kind to me.   

I love snuggling right next to you while you watch TV and give you plenty of affection and kisses, but I am not yet ready to snuggle in your bed, as outside noises during the night can catch me off guard.  My crate is my den; I feel the safest tucked in there for now.   

 The Schoolhouse where I live currently gives me opportunities to meet new people, work on my skill sets to be a good canine and socialize with other pups.  The vet can be scary so I wear a muzzle as a precaution.   The vet says they feel more comfortable around me and I can relax because they are not stressed and are able focus on their job.   I am comfortable with nail trimming, face grooming and ear cleaning if I trust you.  Baths are still a bit scary but will tolerate them.    

I would love a hooman of my own to share my day to day life with and bring much companionship to an active family in any shape or form.   

Other Pictures of Bela (click to see larger version):

Bela Bela Bela Bela
Bela Bela